Update: “The Bucket Rider” is not actually my favorite short story

Actually, my real favorite short story is Everything and Nothing, by Jorge Louis Borges. (Go on, read it; the thing’s less than a page.) The other serious contenders, off the top of my head:

Deutsches Requiem, Tholn, Uqbar, Orbis Tertius, and Borges and I, also by Borges, the latter of which continues the exploration of “the self” as a narrative illusion also undertaken in Everything and Nothing and his essay “The Nothingness of Personality”.

Bartleby the Scrivener, by Herman Melville, possibly the most thorough fictional interrogation of the possibility of morality since Hamlet (and before Crime and Punishment)

Gimpel the Fool, Isaac Bashevis Singer

Long walk to Forever, Kurt Vonnegut

 The Bureau d’Echange de Maux, The Fortress Unvanquishable, Save for Sacnoth, Edward Plunkett the 18th Lord Dunsany, and by the same, Ardor Canis, which I have only ever seen a moulding copy of The Man who Ate the Phoenix stumbled upon by accident in RaynorThe anthology now out of print, and even Amazon cannot find.

The Shadow over Innsmouth, H.P. Lovecraft

 Feeders and Eaters, by Neil Gaiman

The Red Queen’s Race, The Final Question, Isaac Asimov

Thank you for entertaining my vanity.

Any reading suggestions for the spare time I don’t have?

5 Responses

  1. O Lovecraft, you made high school much more interesting.

    If only because I freaked out both the art teacher and my mom with a sketch I made after reading too much lovecraft. I miss that one, it was awesome

  2. You like Bartleby, too? I love _Bartleby the Scrivener_, yet it seems that everyone I run into hates it. Except you, apparently.

    As for reading suggestions, you might like __Widows__, by Ariel Dorfman. It’s especially interesting when compared with Sophocles’ _Antigone_.

  3. Junia! you rule. Where did you hear about Dorfman’s Widows? Just read it for fun? I took a great class last year where we read that book and then yes, did the comparison with Antigone. Cool stuff.

  4. I read it in English 6 last year. Dr. Spargo assigned it, along with Antigone. I kept the book, and I keep meaning to reread it sometime. As a poli sci major and a feminist, I found it pretty fascinating.

  5. Hah, yeah…I read it in Spargor’s class too, but it was in Contemporary American Lit.

Leave a Reply

