Here’s to you, class of 2009

(above) A stock photograph.

(above) A stock photograph.

Today is the last day for undergraduate classes for the seniors–unless you have a Saturday session, in which case, that sucks. You’ve still got finals, but I imagine those will be hazy and impersonal. So, I congratulate you all sincerely in advance.

I hope it was worth it; I mean it when I say that. It always pains me to see how unquestioningly giddy families are at graduations. Sure, most people are psyched and proud of their accomplishments, and looking forward to a bright and productive future, or at least a nice meal afterwards and a great excuse to party with your favorite faces from the last four-to-five years. But others feel oddly empty; they might have the sneaking suspiscion they’ve spent upwards of $100,000 for a four-year long daycare, a bubble of intelligencia floating aloofly above the tirals of the real world, and that they’re utterly unprepared for a succession of bills in a recession. I try to feel for both sorts of people.

I can’t help but think I’ve already seen some of you for the last time ever, discounting any new photos uploaded to Facebook I stalk. That makes me sad, in a selfish way, as you’ve your own lives to get on with. For those I will not see again: Goodbye. I wish you the best of luck, though I don’t know what that would look like.

3 Responses

  1. yaaaaaa freedddommmmm……to my parents house……damn

    your time will come Bento, then it gets terrifying, kind of like how im almost terrified of finishing finals next week

  2. You could graduate, find yourself unable to find a job (let’s hear it for getting rejected by Americorps 3 times in a year! woot!) and end up right back at our illustrious University for a second degree, basically just for sh*ts and giggles since you’ve got little else going on.

    Not that I would know anything about that scenario…

  3. I almost wish I could do that, I’d rather take a job than get more into debt though

Leave a Reply

