Prominent conservative blogger backs adoption for same-sex couples

Rod Dreher, an editor of the Dallas Morning News and blogger of moderate prominence at beliefnet.com. He’s kind of a scary guy. In the past, Dreher has attributed pedophilia among Catholic clergy and the coverup of the same to “the lavender mafia”.  When discussing Phillip Pullman’s irreligious His Dark Materials trilogy, Dreher said he would rather give his children a rattlesnake to play with rather than let them read the books. Apparently, he is writing a book himself mulling over the possibility of leading a secession of traditionalists from American society proper and establish semi-isolated cooperative enclaves.

So one can imagine my surprise when I read he has come out  in favor of gay adoption:

I find myself convinced of the truth of the Church’s teaching, but also without a good argument for why orphans are better off languishing without loving parents than they are being in a nurturing home with a same-sex couple. I do believe heterosexual couples seeking adoption should be privileged, because I believe a mother and a father are in principle the best arrangement for children. But I can’t say I have any real objection to same-sex couples adopting, even though I have a somewhat guilty conscience about that.

“Heterosexual privilege?” “Guilty conscience?” The endorsement is rather condescending and heavily qualified; Dreher believes there’s nothing preventing same-sex couples from being good parents, even if they are, by his reckoning, irrevocably hellbound. But still; if we were keeping score, I’d count it as a win.

Is it a win? Pyrrhic victory at least?

On a personal note: I’ve never had to make the argument myself, but I always imagined if I were trying to convince an opponent of same-sex adoption, I would do so roughly along the lines Dreher does. Even if it could be demonstrated by some meaningful measure that children raised by heterosexual couples were more well-adjusted than those raised by gays or lesbians (something that has never been done), it is undeniable that their material and moral circumstance would still be better than that of the average foster home.

It’s not one of the stronger arguments I’ve ever made. But apparently it’s sufficient, to at least one person.

Leave a Reply

