Poetry Thursday!

Since I need a distraction from this gawdawful colonial literature paper I’m “writing” at the moment, here is some poetry early on this Thursday morning.

The Passion Flower

By: Margaret Fuller

My love gave me a passion-flower.
I nursed it well – so brief its hour!
My eyelids ache, my throat is dry:
He told me that it would not die.

My love and I are one, and yet
Full oft my cheeks with tears are wet –
So sweet the night is and the bower!
My love gave me a passion-flower.

So sweet!  Hold fast my hands.  Can God
Make all this joy revert to sod,
And leave to me but this for dower –
My love gave me a passion-flower.

Leave a Reply

