“Being the first sucks”

Amanda Simpson, Obama appointee to the U.S. Commerce Department appointee and out trans woman, on the challanges of breaking barriers (via ABC News):

Being the first sucks. I’d rather not be the first but someone has to be first, or among the first. I think I’m experienced and very well qualified to deal with anything that might show up because I’ve broken barriers at lots of other places and I always win people over with who I am and what I can do…

[There will be] questions like: Is this a token? Are you here to do a job or just to fill a quota or appease other people? In that regard it makes it a bit more difficult. I’m sure I will have to do and intend to do a far superior job than any other person. But I’m sure I will always be second guessed.

Simpson has been facing criticism shout-downs from all the predictable corners, but was also the subject of an entirely tasteless Letterman sketch.

Leave a Reply

