Selfishness

It’s not intrinsic to child freedom, just as unselfishness is in no way connected to childbearing, as Amanda Marcotte came to reason after interviews with her non-mommy friends:

 Not only did the childless not see their choice as inherently selfish, they argued that the choice to have children could be considered selfish in some cases. Natalie agreed that her attachment to her disposable income could be considered selfish but said, on the other hand, “When I ask friends of mine who have/want kids what their reasons are, the answers range from ‘I don’t know’ to ‘I want someone to love me’ to ‘I want someone to take care of me in my old age,’ which are not only also selfish but poorly reasoned.”

Leave a Reply

